Caltech Chamber Music Ensembles

Saturday, January 18, 2020
8:00pm to 10:00pm
Add to Cal

Maia Jasper White, Caltech's Director of Chamber Music, performs the complete Four Seasons by Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741) on violin. Along the way, she will also explain how Vivaldi set specific poetry about each season—from chirping birds to sweltering heat to chattering teeth to drunken harvest parties—to music.

On piano will be Valeria Morgovskaya.

Concerto No. 1 in E major, Op. 8, RV 269, "Spring" (La primavera)

  1. Allegro
  2. Largo e pianissimo sempre
  3. Allegro pastorale

Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 8, RV 315, "Summer" (L'estate)

  1. Allegro non molto
  2. Adagio e piano – Presto e forte
  3. Presto

Concerto No. 3 in F major, Op. 8, RV 293, "Autumn" (L'autunno)

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio molto
  3. Allegro

Concerto No. 4 in F minor, Op. 8, RV 297, "Winter" (L'inverno)

  1. Allegro non molto
  2. Largo
  3. Allegro

This concert is free and open to the public, with no tickets or reservations required. Parking is also free.

Please note that each of the Caltech Chamber Music Ensembles concerts in January is different, and will showcase different groups.

For more information, please contact Cindy De Mesa by phone at 626-395-3295 or by email at